Juniors Compete in Dairy Knowledge Events

Juniors Compete in Dairy Knowledge Events

BRATTLEBORO, Vt., July 15, 2019 – Appleton, Wisconsin hosted the 2019 National Holstein Convention June 24 through June 27, where youth had the opportunity to show off their dairy knowledge in Dairy Bowl, Dairy Jeopardy and Dairy Knowledge Exam.

Dairy Jeopardy
More than 75 participants, broken into three divisions, competed in Dairy Jeopardy. Based on the popular TV game show, youth compete individually, answering dairy industry-related questions and wagering points, testing not only their industry knowledge but their critical thinking and risk management skills. The top three individuals in each division were:Juniors Compete in Dairy Knowledge Events

Junior Division:
1st place, Isaiah Hammerand, Iowa
2nd place, Jacob Harbaugh, Wisconsin
3rd place, Brady Bleck, Wisconsin

Intermediate Division:
1st place, Courtney Glenna, Wisconsin
2nd place, Trenton Hammerand, Iowa
3rd place, Trevor Clapp, Massachusetts

Senior Division:

1st place, Paige Demun, New York
2nd place, Isabelle Leonard, Virginia
3rd place, Brock Irwin, Illinois

Dairy Knowledge Exam
The Dairy Knowledge Exam is open to any youth attending the National Junior Holstein Convention who wants to put their brain to the test with a 25-question written test. The winners of each age division are:

Junior Division:
1st place: Hayley Daubert, Virginia
2nd place: Jennifer DeVries, California
3rd place: Rachel Craun, Virginia

Senior Division:
1st place: Isabelle Leonard, Virginia
2nd place: Greg Norris, Massachusetts
3rd place: Summer Henschel, Wisconsin

Dairy Bowl
Teams of four compete head-to-head to see who can buzz in first to answer questions related to the dairy industry. A total of 30 teams competed in two divisions. The Junior Division (ages 9-15) championship round came down to teams from Pennsylvania and New York. New York was named champion in the Junior Division and the team consists of Gabriella Taylor, George Andrew Jr., Kailey Kuhn, Alysha Kuhn and coached by Jonathan Taylor.

Senior division (ages 16-21) finalists consisted of teams from California and Virginia. After several rounds of competition, California came out victorious. Team members include Hayley Fernandes, Jacob Fernandes, Kylie Konyn and Abbi Prins, coached by Kirsten Areias.

J. George & Anna Smith Sportsmanship
One team in each Dairy Bowl division is awarded for exemplifying principles of courtesy, friendliness and team spirit throughout the competition. Minnesota was honored in the Junior division, with team members Mauston Krueger, Grady Schuft, Alex Schroeder, and Kate Schmidt coached by Jason Schroeder. In the Senior division, the award went to the Pennsylvania team, consisting of Caroline Arrowsmith, Roy Bramm, Madison Weaver and Amber Pownall, coached by Mandy Arrowsmith, Betsy Pownall and Amy Savage.


Juniors Compete in Dairy Knowledge Events

Written by 

Related posts

Please Leave a Reply About Our Post

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.